top of page

My First Outdoor Rock Climb

I started rock climbing when I turned 19. I was attending school at Arizona State University, I wanted something more to do with my time than simply get my education. I always wondered how it would be to finally rock climb outdoors. Like many dreams, the idea of rock climbing outdoors started to fade into the background. I started to focus more on work and school and never really made time to make my dream a reality…until now!

This past weekend, the opportunity came up for me to rock climb outdoors with the Ape Index Rock Climbing Gym. They sent out a newsletter stating that there would be a free outdoor climbing trip to Jack’s Canyon for all who were interested. I called the gym and the owner, Amos, answers the phone. He said this was an annual trip done to inspire people to go outdoors and rock climb. He gave me directions and told me that there would be clear signs with the Ape Index logo to find the camping grounds. I was set to go!

As the days grew closer, I started to get more excited! Finally, I was going to be rock climbing outdoors. I got nervous, and I considered not going at all. After packing up my Jeep, I hit the road and all these negative thoughts came into my head. I was going to be driving 200 miles all alone, to a place I’ve never been, to see people I never met! And I turned the car around. I thought to myself, “I can do another trip one day”. And I drove back home for about 7 or 8 miles. But then, I remembered that this was a dream of mine! I was running away from my own dreams like I always had even after being packed and ready-to-go. I remembered my cousin Mona Powell, who told me that life is about experiences. She told me stories of her gearing up for trips and traveling and how she has been an inspiration to me. Thinking of her, I found the strength to turn around and head towards Jack’s Canyon!

On my way up, I stopped for pizza in Payson. I walked around the town for a bit to stretch my legs and breathe in the new air! In this moment, I felt empowered and adventurous.

Finally, I reach the turn off point at mile marker 313. I turned off onto the right and got out to open a gate with wire webbing. I go down this road for about 20 minutes. And it’s rocky and pitch black all around without any headlights. I see no signs from the rock climbing gym. Eventually I turned around and realized this was the wrong road. Afterwards, I went on further north, and saw another gate and went through there. The road was much smoother, but still rocky, no signs to find the camping grounds and I’m losing hope that I can make it through the night. The weather is freezing and everything around me is pitch black. I turn the car around and think to myself that maybe I can sleep in my Jeep and try in the morning to find camp. After that thought, I notice a car turning into a gate right across the street from the dirt road I was on. I get into my Jeep and follow that car and notice a gate packed with stickers from rock climbing gyms! I entered the gate and stood outside with my arms outstretched to the universe. I breathed deeply and thank the stars I finally found my path. I go down this road and it is so much smoother than the last two. The signs are easy to find and I arrive at camp.

Never give up on your dreams. Keep going on the path that makes your heart sing. When you arrive, you’ll be greeted with kindness and friends to help you along the way. This is my first outdoor rock climbing journey.

Be well.

The Creative Rebel

Tyandrah Ashley

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page