top of page

97th Avenue Co: For the Creative, For the Rebellious

Around this time last year was when I moved into the Desert Canvas house. An experience unforgettable. Learning and growing with a range of hipsters, innovators, and some of the most intelligent people I could’ve ever hoped to meet. All of us, 6 living under one roof, with the goal of helping each other to seek identity, create goals, and achieve a fulfilling life. My community included environmental scientists, yoga instructors, photographers, full-bright scholars, and of course the CEO/landlord that was a young entrepreneur leading this innovative project called Desert Canvas.

While living under this roof, I noticed that all my roommates had their own bikes or an interesting bike tale. They all had some connection to their bikes in their lifetimes and shared what each of their bikes meant to them. I started doing some research and decided I needed a bike to get around the city of Tempe and also to connect more with my community. I learned about Bike Saviours, bought my own Peugeot road bike, and learned how to build and maintain bikes while volunteering less than a mile down the street from my co-working, co-living home in Desert Canvas!

I removed the kickstand, changed the handlebars, cleaned the bearings, and did all sorts of maintenance on my bike. I grew a relationship with my local community like never before. Soon enough, I was joining bike social rides, bringing my camera to shoot photography, and exploring the city in a whole new way. I found myself on a bike, and I want to share this part of my identity with others too!

Using my education as an ASU graduate with a Bachelors Degree in Nonprofit Management, my skills and knowledge in Film, Media Studies, and Photography, and newfound love for bikes, I began 97th Avenue Co: a brand for the Creative and the Rebellious!

Love,

Ty


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page